Episode four: Oh my darling, clementine

“Enemy, chicken and lots of veggies. Looks good and very healthy! It’s what I should be eating but whatever, haha,”said one of the executives that entered the break room. Generally a well liked and personable executive that every makes small talk with in the break room. “Is that all you have?” she directs at desperate who is eating Cheezits.

In all one swift motion, desperate rips out an object from her lunch bag and screams “I have clementines too!”

“Oh, that’s good,” said replied.

“I was so excited that I found a place that sells clementines individually. I hate that you have to buy them by the 5 pounds,” Enemy chimed in.

“Oh wow, never really knew that existed. I just eat like five at a time so I have never cared for much less,” said executive.

“Yeah that’s stupid,” Desperate added.

“Really fond of clementines but can only ever find the mandarin ones so I haven’t been getting them. Probably should look at another grocery store sometime,” said executive.

“I can get you a box, they sell them at my store. I can go after work and give them to you tomorrow,” Desperate desperately pleaded.

“No, no thank you. Plus I have no cash on me ever.”

“Don’t worry it would be my treat!”

“No, that’s okay,” executive said inching out the door.

“Well take the ones I have now!”

“No, I’ll wouldn’t feel comfortable taking your lunch”

“I insist I have them all the time”

“Heh, no that’s very thoughtful but enjoy your lunch ladies,” executive said leaving the room. Desperate sat there smug and proud. I am the only one here willing to give up her lunch to executive she thought.

3 thoughts on “Episode four: Oh my darling, clementine

Leave a comment